Nothing but a manger

Sunday. Freezing, beautiful, December morning. A beautiful Mass, the last Sunday in Advent, in one of Polish churches.

And in front of the church… a girl on the knees, asking money, with a paper cup in her hand. Is there in the world anyone who would be more difficult to handle when you want to help? We all knows how does it work. Her family sent her to the street and ordered to mutter that she’s poor and hungry. They don’t even want to change their “lifestyle” (at least this is what everyone believes) and their children are its victims – with no possibility to study, just with a skill of muttering.

And in the meanwhile, the atmosphere in the church grows. The candles are burning and the sermon is about a little baby and – as usual – “don’t forget about God during Christmas”. So sweet (I was there too).

While being full of those pious thoughts, we go out.

Why do I sound satirical? Because I don’t even know how to comment what happened. I saw that girl from the distance. I won’t give money, I never do, especially for children, because it’s not helpful at all. But I would never think to kick her even more.

And who will help me?! – snarled one elder lady shrew with her most malicious voice (maybe she was doing exercises about her neighbours all week long).

Tell your dad to earn some money! – sait the other one looking down on the girl.

Stop moaning! – ordered the last one.

 

Yes, yes, I know. Every day we experience this kind of anti-testimony of faith. But that much?

 

So again… Christmas tree, ornaments, warm coat to the church, cookies, artificial snow and gifts, fireplace and shining house…

 

and for Jesus nothing but a manger.

 

Leave a comment