A hundred years old book

Christian tradition in Bethlehem is as old as the Christianity itself – it may go without saying. But this once forgotten village, the town of King Dawid, which offered Jesus Christ just an empty grotto today has become a point of contact for thousands of traditions, customs, religions and views.

While meeting pilgrims, it seems that not all of them get to know the depth and mysteries of this place while running from a bus to the Nativity Church and then back. But in those passed-by houses there’s been living Christians – Arabs, who speak and pray in Arabic, they have Arabic customs (somewhat different from Muslim ones but still) and they belong to different churches (mostly Catholic and Orthodox but it’s other suject).

And this is how I’ve found this “pearl” – translated from Latin to Arabic “Bible Commentary” published in… 1913!

rok-biblii

I can already hear those voices: “I can’s see any date on this picture!”

Well, during those years when I’ve been studying Arabic, I discovered one amazing thing – once you try to understand those who are different than what we’re used to, you’ll always get to notice something what you weren’t aware of before and your mind will open for new possibilities and understand that what is “clear” and “obvious” doesn’t have to be so. And this is for example the case with what we call in primary school “Arabic numerals”. 1913 in Arabic looks… like this ١٩١٣.

I was delighted to discover how some “Latin – tradition” concepts are translated into Arabic on the first page. Nihil Obstat is a comment on a title page that confirms the compliance of the text with the Church. I’ve actually never seen this term translated in any book – until I found this one with Arabic “nothing interferes with the publication”. My eyes of philologist will notice everything – especially what is hidden in an old and dusty box full of books and letters written in this beautiful and forgotten handwriting – I just forget where I am!

Leave a comment